top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJamie Drake

Jamie's Take on Box of Stars

Updated: Jun 22, 2021

None of us is born an artist. Everyone has the potential to be one, and our childhoods shape that potential. Young school children are usually excited for arts classes, coloring, painting, singing, piano, role-playing, etc. However, something happens during the K-12 process that pushes many people out of the arts and away from creativity. Therefore, if you know adults that are artists, understand that (1) they are driven by love and passion for what they do and (2) they have worked very hard to be the artist they are. If you have kids, keep cultivating their interest in the arts. We need artists. The Pandemic has made this so obvious if we forgot.


In my case, I did not really start to play the guitar until I was 30 years old. I owned a guitar, yes, and learned a few chords before then, yes, but I never committed to learning anything until 2002-2003, and that is when I simultaneously began writing my own songs -- simply because "established" songs were too hard for me to play. I had no lessons and no official training other than the thousands of hours I had spent listening to music. Regardless, I was determined to write and sing my own songs. I was going to do it.


Unfortunately, my commitment waxed and waned after 2003, to the point that I sold ALL my gear in 2007. In 2012, however, I won my second Lilly Fellowship and used the stipend to buy new gear, including the Martin DC16-GTE guitar that I still play on stage today. That year was the turning point. I have written more songs in the 2012-2021 period than in all other years combined, I have become somewhat competent on the guitar, I can sing with confidence in the studio and on stage, and I have found my true artistic "voice".


This is why Box of Stars is so special for me. I look at it as a "debut" album of sorts because it is the first collection of songs that accurately communicates my true "voice" as a songwriter and musician. All the credit goes to Amber Drake , my forever groupie, Luke, Sofia, Leila, Sammy, Dave Baker, Tyler Damerell , Chris Ratsabout, Brian Spahr, and Sean Wooldridge for believing in me and the star I carried inside.


Support the people in your life that do art. We need it.


Please try to come out to Trubble Brewing on July 2 to see The Murmurations live. We are better than good.


In the meantime, pre-save #boxofstars on Spotify at: https://smarturl.it/prv5n6


Also, find the music video for Big Bang on this channel.


Thanks for your support! No purchase necessary!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page